Join the Kansas City Symphony for exhilarating, beautiful music in March

Kansas City Symphony Classical Series: Home Springs Eternal: Sibelius’ Second

Anne Akiko Meyers
Violinist Anne Akiko Meyers is soloist on two works for the Symphony’s March 24-26 concerts, including a piece called “Fantasia, which was written exclusively for her by the late Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara.

Hope Springs Eternal: Sibelius’ Second.

At a time when Finland was under Russian domination, Sibelius’ Second Symphony was viewed as a message of hope. Today, the fiercely dramatic and ultimately triumphant work is one of Sibelius’ most-loved compositions.

The sparkling overture to Danish composer Nielsen’s opera, Maskarade, sets the stage for a tale of romance and mistaken identity.

American virtuoso Anne Akiko Meyers stars in not one, but two works for violin and orchestra — the posthumous world premiere of Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara’s violin concerto, Fantasia, and Ravel’s Tzigane, inspired by vibrant Gypsy music.

Tickets for this Kansas City Symphony concert start at $25. Call the Symphony Box Office at (816) 471-0400 to purchase or select seats online here.

Friday and Saturday, March 24-25 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, March 26 at 2 p.m.
Helzberg Hall, Kauffman Center

Michael Stern, conductor
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin

NIELSEN Overture to Maskarade
RAUTAVAARA Fantasia (world premiere)
RAVEL Tzigane
SIBELIUS Symphony No. 2

Listen to the Symphony’s podcast for this concert.

Listen to a preview of Fantasia.